About Us

The Virginia Association of EMS Practitioners was formed in October 2014 by Anthony S. Harbour, James H. Gould, Jr., and Willard B. Hicks, Sr.  VAEMSP is Virginia's only organization solely dedicated to representing Virginia's EMS Practitioners at all levels, including Emergency Medical Responders, Emergency Medical Technicians, Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians, Paramedics, and other professionals.  VAEMSP represents EMS Practitioners working in all aspects of EMS, including volunteer rescue squads, government service agencies, fire departments, hospital emergency departments and transport services, private companies, and industrial settings.


The purpose of VAEMSP is to:

  • Represent and serve Virginia's EMS Practitioners through advocacy, educational programs, and research
  • Encourage and facilitate education, training and continuing education of EMS Practitioners
  • Promote communications and cooperation among EMS Practitioners
  • Promote public understanding of EMS Practitioners and Systems
  • Encourage and promote career development and professional advancement of EMS as a profession


Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors is charged with the responsibility of establishing the Association and developing benefits and programs for the membership.  The Board of Directors consists of the following individuals:

President:  Anthony S. Harbour, BSN, MEd, RN, NRP
Vice-President:  James H. Gould, Jr., RN, NRP
Secretary:  vacant
Treasurer:  Shannon Daniel, MS, EMT-I
Director:  Willard B. Hicks, III, NRP
Director:  Damien Coy, BS, NRP
Director:  Gregory S. Neiman, BS, NRP, NCEE
Director:  Willard B. Hicks, IV, NRP, CCEMT-P, FP-C



Standing committees are established by the bylaws of VAEMSP and these committees work with the Board of Directors to shape the future of the association.  Committee membership is open to Regular and Student Members of VAEMSP.  The following are the standing committees of VAEMSP:




Program and Awards